had enough

Honestly, there are days that I feel like I’ve just had enough.  Usually after dealing with 3 boys and their attitudes and behaviors, bills we have just enough money to cover, my husband having a bad day, and trying to not make remarks back to strangers who feel comfortable talking to me about things I wish not to discuss with them.  I know we all have those days.

In 1 Kings 19 Elijah voiced what I have felt so many times.  “I have had enough, Lord,” he said. “Take my life; I am no better than my ancestors.” Then he lay down under the bush and fell asleep.

I’ve said the same thing myself but then I find myself feeling guilty for feeling this way.  Now granted I haven’t had people chasing me down to try and kill me and that is what makes me feel so guilty.  Shouldn’t I be able to handle more?  Do more?  But watching Elijah I notice that he didn’t feel guilty.  And God didn’t punish him for being at the end of his rope.

God made Himself known.  God met Elijah’s needs and then talked with him.  Elijah was honest with how he was feeling.  He didn’t feel sorry for himself, he didn’t try and pretend he was stronger than he was, and he didn’t try to blame or harass.  It didn’t bother God.

After meeting Elijah’s immediate needs and after showing Himself to Elijah, he led Elijah to Elisha.  Elisha would be his helper.

God does the same for us.  In the midst of my trouble, if I look up long enough, talk to God, I too will find my needs being met by God.  I too will have someone come alongside me to strengthen me and take over some of my responsibilities if I allow them.

Leave a Reply

