Thessalonians’ Faith

Reading through the first chapter of Thessalonians I think about how much this letter may have meant to this church.
I wasn’t raised as a Christian.  I pretty much raised myself.  I was emancipated at 14.  On my own.  When I first became a mom I questioned all of my thoughts and decisions.  Sometimes I felt so easily influenced and so easily frustrated.  I didn’t have answers and sometimes I didn’t even know the questions to ask.
Feeling alone, persecuted.  I imagine them asking some of the things I ask myself.  Why does it have to be so hard.  Just wishing that I had answers.  Second guessing myself, should I had said something, did I say too much, did I bring glory to God?  Was I doing the right thing.
The letter came at just the right time for this church.  A letter of encouragement to let them know they were not forgotten and Paul was excited for them and kept them in his prayers.
I think about myself as well.  At just the right time He as sent encouragement.  Sometimes I see it and sometimes God has to make me stop and look for it.  I’m glad though.  I couldn’t walk as a Christian without Him, without the people He places in my life to let me know that He has come into my life with power and my faith is based on the same hope that the Thessalonians’ faith was based on.  Our Lord Jesus Christ.
Thanksgiving for the Thessalonians’ Faith 
1:2-4  We always thank God for all of you and continually mention you in our prayers. We remember before our God and Father your work produced by faith, your labor prompted by love, and your endurance inspired by hope in our Lord Jesus Christ.  For we know, brothers and sisters loved by God, that He has chosen you.
I’m praying for you today.  Please pray for me as well.
Leave a Reply

