reality

2 Samuel 19:13 And say to Amasa, ‘Are you not my own flesh and blood? May God deal with me, be it ever so severely, if you are not the commander of my army for life in place of Joab.’

Slowly reading through the reign of David has left me feeling like I’m watching a Reality TV show!  He’s a shepherd, he’s a warrior, he’s a soldier, he’s running for his life, he’s king, he’s not king, his family is running amok, he’s partial king, he’s king again, who can he trust?!

Joab is just part of David’s story but he’s a person of interest.  He’s someone that David needs to keep his eye on.  At first I’m thinking that Joab is really looking after David’s interest when he came to David and told him to get his act together.  Yes this is exactly what David needed to hear but I didn’t take a closer look at Joab’s heart until now.

David recognized that Joab was right.  He needed to get up and be king. But David also saw that Joab’s heart had changed towards him and that he needed to move someone else into the position of trust.  David had to be able to trust his commander.  Joab’s heart was to be in a position where he felt that he was first.  And being in a position of being first can cause a person to become abusive towards others or themselves.  It reminded me of a scripture in 3 John 9-10.

Just recently God had kept gently pushing me to slow down.  Trying to teach me that I didn’t need to live in a constant state of multi-tasking.  Heart palpitations and breathe is causing me to slow down and realize that I wasn’t letting go of my schedule because I didn’t want to be seen as less than committed.  I didn’t want to be seen weak.  I imagine that Joab didn’t want to be seen as being weak, less than committed to others if he obeyed David’s orders.  Just like Joab I want to be seen as strong, in control and capable.  Thankfully my heart is in great shape but I still need to make changes.

God is teaching me that not being involved in everything doesn’t mean I’m not committed.  It means I will be present in what I am involved in.  God is teaching me that when I say no to some things means that I can be my best in what I say yes to.  God is also teaching me that somethings are more important than what I think they are.

By doing only what God has planned for me gives me so much satisfaction that I know that God can trust me and I can trust that God has me right where I need to be.

 

Leave a Reply

