truth and love

2 John 2-3  “because of the truth, which lives in us and will be with us forever: Grace, mercy and peace from God the Father and from Jesus Christ, the Father’s Son, will be with us in truth and love”

I love a blessing!  I want God’s blessing!  I want to be blessed and God, in truth and love, shows me, reassures me daily that I have received His blessing.

Grace.  Approval. Sanctification.
Mercy. A blessing that is an act of Divine favor. Compassion.
Peace. Freedom from disquieting or oppressive thoughts or emotions.

And this blessing, these absolute truths lives within me!  Living within me!

These truths demand acknowledgment (Matthew Henry) because they live within us and in others too.

As I am learning more this month about oppression, discrimination, racism, I see this scripture at work.  Not only must I face the thoughts in my own life that oppress me from living free in Christ but I must also face and acknowledge this in the life of others and speak in truth.  Not my own truth, not from my own fears but from the truth that God has given me that is living in me.

Realizing that truth living within me, how much different am I going to be living my life?  How much more grace, mercy, and peace that comes from Christ will I give to myself and the people whose lives touch mine?

Leave a Reply

