more of God

Christian spirituality, the contemplative life, is not about us.  It is about God.  The great weakness of American spirituality is that is is all about us; fulfilling our potential, getting the blessings of God, expanding our influence, finding our gifts, getting a handle on principles by which we can get a edge over the competition.  The more there is of us, the less there is of God. – Eugene Peterson

I have always seen the value in fasting but I’m not one that holds onto traditions just because everyone else is doing it.  This year is different.  This year I am participating in Lent.  I’ve been a Christian now for 19 years and I have never considered Lent to be something that was part of my story, my experience as a Christian until this year.  This year I want more of God and realizing that Lent should be a part of my life.

I am reading the book “40 Days of Decrease: A Different Kind of Hunger.  A Different Kind of Fast” by Alicia Britt Chole.  I am excited.  I found the book a little late but I’m not going to let that put me off.  This is the year of change. God is calling for it on so many levels of my life.  This is the year that there will be less of me and more of God.

1 John 5:1-5 Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ is born of God, and everyone who loves the father loves His child as well. This is how we know that we love the children of God: by loving God and carrying out His commands. In fact, this is love for God: to keep His commands. And His commands are not burdensome, for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith. Who is it that overcomes the world? Only the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God.

I love this scripture!  For everyone who overcomes the world – for everyone who overcomes the old man – our old self – who is it that overcomes our old self?  Only the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God.  When our focus is on Christ only then does our old self no longer matter and we can truly live in love!

One thought on “more of God

  1. Love your statement “less of me and more of God!” I need to adopt that for my daily meditation and goal. Thank you for sharing the title of the book. I would like to look it up. May your year of change be blessed!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

