confession

James 5:16 Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

Today while at bible study one of the women, who is a quiet soul, spoke up.  While studying through 1 John she mentioned that there was a sin that was always in front of her and that God hasn’t taken it away.  Leaving her to trust and rely on God that he is working in her and helping her to change.

WHOA!!  This is a woman I look up to.  She’s beautiful, fit, careful with her words.  I LOVE being around her.  She always makes me smile.  I admire so many of her qualities.

And her sharing this today, even though it wasn’t specific, brought me so much closer to her.  It also got me to thinking, confessing to each other for prayer doesn’t have to be a list of specific sins.  It can be a girlfriend just saying “I’m caught in a sin that hurts my heart.  Please pray for me” and our response to be just “Of course”!

So many times I have felt that I need to bear it all and lay it naked in front of the person before me and I don’t.  It’s easy.  I don’t need to make this hard.  Now if God is pressing me to reveal more then I, us, need to make sure that I am being obedient to God.  But if I just need my friends to pray for me to be released from a sin that is crushing me then I think her example is the one I want to follow.

I admired her before and I still will admire her today and tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

