follow directions

2 Samuel 6:6-11 But when they arrived at the threshing floor of Nacon, the oxen stumbled, and Uzzah reached out his hand and steadied the Ark of God. 7Then the lord’s anger was aroused against Uzzah, and God struck him dead because of this.  So Uzzah died right there beside the Ark of God.   8David was angry because the Lord’s anger had burst out against Uzzah. He named that place Perez-uzzah (which means “to burst out against Uzzah”), as it is still called today. 9David was now afraid of the Lord, and he asked, “How can I ever bring the Ark of the Lord back into my care?” 10So David decided not to move the Ark of the lord into the City of David. Instead, he took it to the house of Obed-edom of Gath. 11The Ark of the Lord remained there in Obed-edom’s house for three months, and the Lord blessed Obed-edom and his entire household.

I was angry with David.  They had build a brand new cart for God.  The best wood that they could find!  Did God want the Ark to just fall on the ground?  Yes God said to not touch the Ark or that person would die but the Ark was going to fall off and hit the ground.  Isn’t there an exception to the rule?

After reading all of chapter 6 I noticed that when David attempted a second time to bring the Ark of the Lord back into his care the Ark was carried by it’s poles and nothing happened.  Huh.  Why was it placed on a really nice cart the first time and carried the second time?

Deuteronomy 10:8  At that time the Lord set apart the tribe of Levi to carry the Ark of the Lord’s Covenant.  Oh.  God said it was to be carried.

I would rationalize that you know God, they built this for you.  It was special and from their own hands they took the time to do this for you God.  I know they didn’t ask God what He wanted.  Honestly I didn’t even notice that David never inquired of the Lord as to what God wanted.  It took me several times of reading through this passage to catch that but not until I was asking a lot of questions and searching.  A lot of questions and a lot of reading!  That’s when I heard God’s voice.

There was a ministry that I really wanted to be a part of a few years ago.  I prayed and I read books.  I exchanged emails with someone who was experienced, I made plans to travel so that I could be trained.  Then nothing.  The traveling never came to fruition.  The training never happened.  I felt the door was closed.  I rationalized with God that this would be an awesome ministry that would benefit so many women!  Then I gave up.  I even began to think that He didn’t want to use me.  That I wasn’t good enough.

God did have a plan and a perfect time.  I should of inquired of him before I made all my plans so that I wouldn’t of ended up angry.  What I have learned is that I am going to follow his lead, I am just going to remain obedient to Him and get happy.

 

 

One thought on “follow directions

  1. I appreciate being reminded of this because of how often I try to do what I think is God’s will without stopping to ask God what his will is. It reminds me of Proverbs 14:12- the way of a man “seems” right to him but in the end it leads to death.

    Like

Leave a Reply

