slow down

This week has been so hard.  I feel like it’s gone by so quick and yet I don’t feel like I’ve accomplished much at all.

I know that I have been dealing with health issues that leave me tired and breathless and  I am grateful that it’s nothing serious but its enough to slow me down.

But I don’t want to slow down.  I want to be a part of ministries at church, I want to stay active with an organization in town that is near and dear to my heart.  I don’t want to slow down on our homeschooling activities.  I want to stay involved!  I just don’t want to slow down.

But God is not in a hurry.  David wasn’t in a hurry either.  Now I’m in 2 Samuel chapter 2:1-11.   Saul has died. Ash-Bosheth, son of Saul was made king over Israel.  WHAT?

Isn’t David the anointed?  What is he waiting for?  What’s up with this other guy?  This is not a time to slow down David!  Your suppose to be king over Israel not just Judah.  Aren’t you?  Taking your time only allows someone else to come in and grab what rightfully belongs to you.  Doesn’t it?!

But not with God.  Whatever is going to happen will happen.  I just need to wait and slow down.  Honestly though that is so difficult for me.  I am a get it done now kind of girl.  Especially if I think I know what needs to be done.  And now God has slowed me down.

God has a plan.  This week He is slowing me down so I can catch up to His plan.  I don’t know what that plan is but I know I can’t rush it.  I want to but God isn’t going to let me rush Him.  He loves me too much for that.

I’ve really got to follow David’s lead in 2:1 “In the course of time David inquired of the Lord. “Shall I go up to one of the towns of Judah?” he asked.  The LORD said, “Go up.”

 

Leave a Reply

