loyalty

2 Samuel 1:15-16 Then David called one of his men and said, “Go, strike him down!” So he struck him down, and he died.  For David had said to him, “Your blood be on your own head. Your own mouth testified against you when you said, ‘I killed the Lord’s anointed.’”

When I first read through this passage I thought David would be ok with this guy killing Saul.  Wasn’t it compassionate?  Saul was dying and if he was asking this guy to kill him then Saul must of thought he wasn’t going to survive and with the enemy closing in on him, well, I didn’t see a problem with this.  After all, Saul had been critically wounded and he failed at trying to kill himself.   He had asked his armor-bearer but he was too scared.  So was Saul.  He was scared without God.  He had no hope and was out of options.

Still, David surprised me that he didn’t pardon the man who had obeyed Saul.  I didn’t understand it until I read through 1 John.  It’s all about love.  Love for God.  Love for God’s people.  David had so many chances to rid Saul from his life but instead he gave Saul honor and respect.  That is how we know David was in God, a man after God’s own heart.

1 John 3:16 This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us.  And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters.

I’m going to have a rough time of it as I grow closer to the body of Christ.  People, well, we act like people.  Some of us are trust worthy, some of us do lie, some of us are critical.  We have our sins ever before us but as 1 John 3:11-12 shows, we should love each other.

We should never be doormats for each other, healthy boundaries are good.  David showed boundaries by confronting Saul several times but he showed unconditional respect for Saul.

I can do this.  I can trust God to handle the sin in other peoples lives and focus on my own  issues while showing respect.  I don’t need to hide or become bitter.  I don’t need to avenge myself.  God has a better plan than that for me.

Leave a Reply

