advice

I know that God wants us to seek advice.
Isaiah 55:6 Seek the Lord while He may be found
1 Chronicles 16:10 and Psalm 105:3 those who seek the Lord rejoice
Proverbs 28:5, 2 Chronicles 14:4, 2 Chronicles 15:12, Psalm 22:26
Proverbs 11:14 in abundance of counselors there is victory
Proverbs 12:15 a wise man listens to counsel
Proverbs 15:31-33 listing will allow us to live among the wise.
Proverbs 19:30 listen so you will be wise
Proverbs 24:6 abundance of counselors there is victory
Proverbs 27:9 a man’s counsel is sweet to his friend

There are so many scriptures that talk about seeking the counsel of God, seeking advice of the wise. But what if the answers aren’t coming quick enough or the answers aren’t what you want.

1 Samuel 28:4-7 The Philistines assembled and came and set up camp at Shunem, while Saul gathered all Israel and set up camp at Gilboa. When Saul saw the Philistine army, he was afraid; terror filled his heart. He inquired of the Lord, but the Lord did not answer him by dreams or Urim or prophets. Saul then said to his attendants, “Find me a woman who is a medium, so I may go and inquire of her.”

It brought back memories of when I wasn’t patient, when my husband and I didn’t call on the counsel of God.  All of those times brought feelings of regret.  Those were times of turmoil for our family.

I felt dread for Saul as I read that he went to find a woman who could tell the future.  He didn’t have the heart to wait and see what God might say.  I wonder if his story would of been much different if he would of been willing to wait for God to answer.  We’ll never know.

I pray that as my husband and I are making decisions now, for our family and his employment, that we are patient, praying over the advice that we have been given and wait until the Lord answers.

Leave a Reply

