trust

1 Samuel 27: 7-11  So David and Abishai went to the army by night, and there was Saul, lying asleep inside the camp with his spear stuck in the ground near his head. Abner and the soldiers were lying around him. Abishai said to David, “Today God has delivered your enemy into your hands. Now let me pin him to the ground with one thrust of the spear; I won’t strike him twice.” But David said to Abishai, “Don’t destroy him! Who can lay a hand on the Lord’s anointed and be guiltless? As surely as the Lord lives,” he said, “the Lord Himself will strike him, or his time will come and he will die, or he will go into battle and perish. But the Lord forbid that I should lay a hand on the Lord’s anointed. Now get the spear and water jug that are near his head, and let’s go.”

People have injured my children’s hearts, my husband has not been treated right at work, family have turned their backs on us because we are Christian, I have a friend who is a single mom and watching her sons try to grow up with out a loving father.  Another friend is having medical issues the doctors are trying to figure out what the cause is, a friend going through cancer, someone close to my heart is dealing with a husband who moved out to live with the new love of his life and wants to start over and leave them behind, a husband who is abusive, she is trying to feed her children and keep a roof over their heads.  So many women around me hurting.  So many women feeling like they are being attacked and they are.  Satan is trying to tear us apart, tear our families apart.

I am so like Abishai when it comes to my friends, my children, my family.  I want to right the wrongs and be the hero for them because I love them deeply.  I want to encourage them to take matters into their own hands and defend themselves or at least let me open my mouth and defend them!  Seeking miracles.   I have had dreams of not striking the enemy twice!

But David reminds us that not only for our loved ones but also for ourselves that the Lord Himself will strike the enemy down.  Not us but the Lord.

And we know this to be true if we know our Lord Jesus Christ and His promises.  John, who had an intimate relationship with Jesus, reminds us of that in 1 John 2:12-15

I am writing to you, dear children, 
because your sins have been forgiven on account of his name. 
I am writing to you, fathers, 
because you know him who is from the beginning. 
I am writing to you, young men, 
because you have overcome the evil one. 
I write to you, dear children, 
because you know the Father. 
I write to you, fathers, 
because you know him who is from the beginning. 
I write to you, young men, 
because you are strong, 
and the word of God lives in you, 
and you have overcome the evil one.
I know Him.  I am forgiven.  I do know Him who is from the beginning.  I have overcome because Christ overcame first.  We are strong!  The word of God does live in us!  I know that God has us in His hands.  God has a plan.  I just need to trust in that plan for my friends, my family and for me.  Just trust in God.
One thought on “trust

Leave a Reply

