our examples

My oldest was with a large group of boys and the message was about who we chose to be our heroes.  The question “Who do you think is a good example in the Bible?”  My son raised his hand and said “Goliath”.  The man who asked the question paused for a moment then allowed another raised hand to answer the question.  My husband and I both felt embarrassed.  That’s is NOT who your hope your son will look to for an example.

When we got home I asked him why he chose to say Goliath and his answer was simple.  He said, “You don’t want to act like him, you don’t want to treat people like he did”.  The conversation was over as he walked away and I was still feeling embarrassed and I still wished that he had answered Jesus!

1 John 2:9-11 Anyone who claims to be in the light but hates a brother or sister is still in the darkness. Anyone who loves their brother and sister lives in the light, and there is nothing in them to make them stumble. But anyone who hates a brother or sister is in the darkness and walks around in the darkness. They do not know where they are going, because the darkness has blinded them. (NIV)

Today I was reading through 1 John 2 and I had an aha moment.  It’s about fellowship.  It’s about loving your brothers and sisters.  I get it.  Goliath is a good example of how to not treat each other; to not mock each other, to not shame each other, to not fight with each other.  Oh from the mouth of babes we can learn.

John knew Jesus intimately and his message in 1 and 2 John was personal.  John watched Jesus be the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world (1 John 2:2).  If I had physically been standing at the foot of the cross, watching Jesus make the final sacrifice, would I treat my sin differently?    Having this knowledge today makes me want to change for Him.

David did a lot of things wrong.  David was a sinner but he loved God and he loved the people of Israel.   He loved them so much that (1John 2:10) there was nothing in him that made him stumble.  He walked right up to Goliath and did as we are to do, put the sin to death.  No regrets!

**This message has been oldest son approved**

Leave a Reply

