intimidation

1 Samuel 17:4-11  A champion named Goliath, who was from Gath, came out of the Philistine camp. His height was six cubits and a span. He had a bronze helmet on his head and wore a coat of scale armor of bronze weighing five thousand shekelson his legs he wore bronze greaves, and a bronze javelin was slung on his back.  His spear shaft was like a weaver’s rod, and its iron point weighed six hundred shekels.  His shield bearer went ahead of him. 
Goliath stood and shouted to the ranks of Israel, “Why do you come out and line up for battle? Am I not a Philistine, and are you not the servants of Saul? Choose a man and have him come down to me. If he is able to fight and kill me, we will become your subjects; but if I overcome him and kill him, you will become our subjects and serve us.” Then the Philistine said, “This day I defy the armies of Israel! Give me a man and let us fight each other.” On hearing the Philistine’s words, Saul and all the Israelites were dismayed and terrified.

There are so many stories throughout history about warriors.  The war cries, their means of intimidation, their bravery and skill.  I watched a documentary on the History Channel once that showed one group of warriors that would go into battle completely naked, painted blue and screaming.  Another group would spike their hair and go berserk.  That  group would organize berserker war parties!

Reading about Goliath is impressive.  The man was huge!  And he dressed for intimidation.  Shiny bronze, shouting and ready for battle.  He wanted the armies of Israel intimidated.  I even imagine him pacing back and forth while he yelled.  Using every scare tactic he knew.

Satan is no different.  He’s skilled in the art of war and intimidation.  Wanting to separate us from others, preparing to attack.  Wanting to dismay us, terrify us.  Using every scare tactic he knows to have us shaking in our boots, making us back down.  He’s going to use circumstances, loved ones, people we admire, people we don’t even know.  He’s good at what he does.

Our first inclination might be to tuck tail and run, to remember our past failures, or to make ourselves look all crazy and intimating too if we had a momentary bout of courage.  Verse 38 and 39 show that Saul dressed David in his armor along with all his gear but that wasn’t David and who God made David to be.  And it was awkward to move.  I know that feeling.  I know how awkward I can feel when I’m trying to be something, someone I’m not.

But I don’t have to face Satan alone.  I don’t have to face any threat alone.  I never have to walk into the fight alone.  Jesus is there and ready.  My Holy Savior, my King is right by my side just as He was for David!

Verse 47 “All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the Lord saves; for the battle is the Lord’s”.

The battle is the Lord’s!  Praise God!   All I have to do is have confidence in Him.  I don’t have to have confidence in me and I don’t have to do anything special.  When it comes to Satan and ALL his schemes I just need to remember to be strong and courageous, put my confidence in God, because the battle belong to the Lord!

 

 

Leave a Reply

