the company we keep

I’m still in 1 Samuel 16.  There is so much to think about in this chapter!

I found myself grieving for Saul.  To be so close to God, His spirit upon you all the time, then to be so empty, tormented.  Tormented by an evil spirit.

But Saul did find relief in David.  In verse 21 “David came to Saul and entered his service.  Saul liked him very much and David became one of his armor-bearers.  Then Saul sent word to Jesse, saying, “Allow David to remain in my service, for I am pleased with him.”  Whenever the spirit from God came on Saul, David would take up his lyre and play. Then relief would come to Saul; he would feel better, and the evil spirit would leave him.”

Saul was desperate for relief.  What strikes me is that the only time he felt true relief was when he was close to the Spirit of the Lord again.  The only way he could have that is when he was close to David because in verse 13 we know that the Spirit of the Lord had come upon David and came in power!

I think about who I love to be near.  The women I enjoy being near are the ones I feel the Spirit of the Lord in.  Women who encourage my own relationship and growth in God, someone I can share my thoughts and feelings with and not fear condemnation.

Spiritual fellowship.   Our spirits need to be near each other.  Psalm 55:14, Acts 2:42.  When our devotion and friendships are in the Spirit of the Lord we experience a sweetness.  Something sacred.  As we walk with each other in closeness.

But what about those friendships where the Spirit of the Lord is not mutual.  David’s presence brought Saul relief and he would feel better.  David’s presence would cause the evil spirit to leave.  In the same way that David would allow the Spirit of the Lord to work I can do the same thing.

I have to ask myself.  Do I allow the Spirit of the Lord in me to work in the lives of non-Christians?  Do I keep the lost in my prayers?  Do I pray to be used by God in such a way that brings comfort to others?  If I’m not then I should be!  Being confident in the gift I have received.

Leave a Reply

