evil spirit

1 Samuel 16.  I love the first part of this chapter.  Its a feel good, lift me up, praise God kind of chapter!  7b “Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart” really makes my heart leap for joy!

I don’t consider myself to be extremely attractive.  I’m not terrible to look at but I consider myself average when it comes to looks and as I age I seem to get rounder and softer!  So when I read that God looks at the heart that makes me feel like I’m in good shape!  Not perfect but doing pretty good.

However today is not where I rested in the chapter.  Verse 14 has me in thought today.  “Now the Spirit of the Lord has departed from Saul, and an evil spirit from the Lord tormented him.”

Saul had to of been in really bad shape emotionally.  To once had the Spirit of the Lord come upon you.  To feel that closeness with God, glorious strength, and then emptiness.  Alone.  I couldn’t imagine a more desperate emotional state a person could be in.  But Saul wasn’t alone for long.  An evil spirit from the Lord came and tormented him.

God has an evil spirit?  I thought everything from God was good.  God did make everything didn’t He.  He made Satan.  Satan made a choice.  Could this be the same with an evil spirit?  And then with Saul being so empty, so alone, without God’s spirit he would be open to what?  Evil.  He was emotionally vulnerable to an evil spirit.

Because of Saul’s lack of repentance verse 21 tells us that David came to Saul and entered his service.  Again, God is in control and will use the sin of others to complete His will.   His will for our good.  Setting the stage for Christ to fulfill prophesy.

 

Leave a Reply

