whose in control?

Babylon.  Known as the City of gods.  Daniel was captured and taken there.  Revelations 17-18 talk about this great city and it was not as I had expected.  Larry Osborne in his series “Thriving in Babylon” described it as “wicked and evil, the personification of all evil in the sight of the angels”.   Psalm 137:8 warns “O Daughter of Babylon, doomed to destruction”.  Honestly, I wondered if that doesn’t describe the world in which we are living in today.

I have worked in Legislation in two different states.  I have seen some good Legislators who really wanted to make a difference, trying to do the best they thought they could do.  I’ve seen some Legislators who just wanted the position and the freebies that came with it, corruption.  Even though, God was still in control.

Upcoming elections, a lot of trash is going to be talked.  Each candidate is going to be accusing the other of horrendous actions.   Emotions are going to run high, not only on tv but in our homes as well.  God is still in control.

Other countries are going to do unthinkable things, religions will be fighting against each other, killing.  Countries against countries.  Cultures against cultures.  Co-workers against co-workers, fighting between family members.  It’s all on the news every night.

But no matter what is happening God will always be working. God will always be in control.  Just as He was in control when He allowed Nebuchadnezzar to besiege Jerusalem, He is in control of everything today.  Just as God situated Daniel to be His voice to Nebuchadnezzar, God will use godly men and godly women to be His voice even today.

We may not always see His hand working behind the scenes  but “As surely as I live, says the Lord, every knee will bow before me; every tongue will confess to God” (Rom 14:11).  What will my confession be?  What will your confession be?  Jesus is Lord of my life except when I’m scared, hungry, tired, lonely, hurt?  I have to know that God is in control just as Daniel did.

Just as Daniel resolved not to defile himself (Daniel 1:8) I too want to make sure that with everything happening in the world today, both locally, nationally, world-wide, that I resolve not to defile myself either.  I also pray that God gives me knowledge and understanding  so that I can understand what I need to understand and make my choices according to His will.  Not by my emotions or desires but by His will.  His good and perfect will!

In order for me to make those choices I am going to have to be in Bible daily.  Not as an obligation or scheduled event but to search for answers, to hear God’s voice and allow Him to speak to me.

Leave a Reply

