my God

1 Samuel 15:24-25, 15:30 “..I was afraid of the people and so I gave in to them.  Now I beg you, forgive my sin and come back with me, so that I may worship the Lord.”  “Saul replied, “I have sinned.  But please honor me before the elders of my people and before Israel; come back with me, so that I may worship the Lord your God.”

What if I’ve messed up so much that God has left me?  I continue to sin, how much is God willing to forgive?   Go to bed every night begging God to forgive your sin?

Have you ever asked these questions?  Today I have thought about it.  I thought about Saul and how God rejected him.  I started asking God why.  Why did He leave Saul?  Did He lose hope in Saul?  In verse 28 it says the Lord had torn the kingdom of Israel away from Saul.  Why?

Verses 25 and 30 also gave me the answer I had for those questions.  I saw the progression of sin in Saul.  Saul revealed his heart in verse 30 by saying “so I may worship the Lord your God”.   Your God.  He didn’t say my God he said your God.

God had ceased to be Saul’s God.  Saul’s heart had stopped beating for his God and turned his worship towards himself.  It was then that God left Saul.  It wasn’t because Saul was a sinful man.   Paul tells us in Romans 7:7-25 that even he struggled with sin.  He struggled with sin the same as we do.  It’s recorded for us to see and learn from.

If our hearts never leave God, now I’m not talking about when we get so mad that we can’t talk to him, or our pain leaves us with hurt, so exhausted, that to look towards God may leave us feeling faint.  No, I’m talking about the leaving God, walking out, divorcing kind of leaving.  If our hearts turn cold towards God, rejecting Him, then it makes sense that He will leave us.  Just as He left Saul.

Leave a Reply

