Samuel’s Farewell Speech

1 Samuel 12 is such a rich chapter.  It’s Samuel’s farewell speech.

It has been amazing to just take my time and read through the life of Samuel.   Being dedicated to God at conception, God’s calling of him as a young boy, to his dedication to reminding the people who God is and what God wants.

He knew all they needed was God.  He is so convinced that all they needed was God that when the people asked for a king he went straight to God.  He warned the people of the dangers of taking a king.  That a king would take from them while they had a God who gave to them.  That with a king they would again become slaves but with God they would live free.

In 1 Samuel 12, I see him warning the people, warning me, reminding us again.  Verse 16 “Now then, stand still and see this great thing the Lord is about to do before your eyes!”.  Stand still.  See.  God did a great thing but that great thing scared the people.  It was a storm, with lightening and rain.  That storm must of been something storm chasers wait for because in verse 18 we are told that all the people stood in awe.  Not just a few but ALL the people and all the people asked Samuel “Pray to the Lord your God for your servants so that we will not die”.

In the midsts of our storms Samuel warns us to stand still and see.  What is God  doing?  Is God in the storm with us?  Am I going to survive this?  Can I live through this?  I’m sure ALL the people were asking the same questions we ask ourselves when we are in the midst of the storms.  God tells us, through Samuel, through people he has placed in my life, “yet do not turn away from the Lord but serve the Lord with all your heart. Do not turn away after unless idols.  They can do you no good, nor can they rescue you, because they are useless.  For the sake of His great name the Lord will not reject His people, because the Lord was pleased to make you His own.”

I know that I can be no different from those people.  I too turned to useless idols before becoming a Christian; food, attention seeking, television, sleeping, alcohol, cigarettes, drugs, sex…. the list can be exhausting.  As a Christian I find that I still have idols.   I still find myself turning to idols that steal my joy instead of the one that sets me free.  I don’t beat myself up by remembering though.  Remembering where I’ve been is good.  Remembering that when I take my eyes off my Lord I fall into sin is good but I just don’t remember my sin.  Just remembering my sin can make me feel hopeless and that is not where God wants me.  He doesn’t want any of us to feel hopeless.

“24But be sure to fear the Lord and serve Him faithfully with ALL your heart; consider what great things He has done for you.”  This is the a great time of the year to remember the great things He has done for me.  As long as I remember then the storms aren’t going to be so scary and I’m going to be able to stand still.  I want to be like Samuel.  I want to love God the way the Samuel loves God.

 

Leave a Reply

