the fighting

I just sent all three boys to their rooms.  They are fighting, again.  Nit picking and complaining, negative attitudes, pushing each other.  Then they come to me with all the petty complaints!  This mama has just hit her limit and I hit it hard.  Yelling, I told them all to go to their rooms, I had enough!  I’m tired.  All I wanted was the basement cleaned!

1 Samuel 10:6 The Spirit of the Lord will come upon you in power, and you will prophesy with them; and you will be changed into a different person.
1 Samuel 10:9 God changed Saul’s heart
1 Samuel 10:26 …whose hearts God had touched.

Today I am just wanting God to change, touch, do whatever He does in these scriptures to my boys and get them to love each other and make my house peaceful again!  It’s hard living with kids and some days I want it to be much easier.  God, what shall I do about my sons?!

The thing is, they do love each other and God is working, touching and changing them so they will walk in His will.  I now need to allow God to work, touch my heart, and change me.  Please God remind me that this isn’t about me, this isn’t about whether or not I’m a good mom or bad for that matter.

My sons need me to be softer, gentler, loving in moments like this.  I need to be willing to guide and teach, love in the midst of the anger. A gentle answer turns away wrath, But a harsh word stirs up anger.  I was harsh.

These are just learning opportunities.  I know that.  But in the middle of their grumbling and arguing I’m thinking that the peace is now gone and I’m looking at myself.  Focused on me and my peace.  God Bless!

I have to keep scriptures near me, very close to me, in order for me to respond to my sons in the strength that only comes from God.  I need to approach God in prayer.   Then I can approach my sons, strengthened in Christ, and restore peace to my home by being gentle.  Kicking Satan to the curb, out of my house.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

“The Lord is my strength and my shield …” Psalm 28:7

“In the day when I called out, You answered me, and made me bold with strength in my soul.” Psalm 138:3

“O God, You are more awesome than Your holy places. The God of Israel is He who gives strength and power to His people.” Psalm 68:35

“He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might He increases strength.” Isaiah 40:29

“For the Lord will be your confidence, and will keep your foot from being caught.” Proverbs 3:26

“They shall walk after the Lord. He will roar like a lion. When He roars, then His sons shall come trembling from the west …” Hosea 11:10

“If you faint in the day of adversity, your strength is small.” Proverbs 24:10

Leave a Reply

