a King

1 Samuel 8:19-20  But the people refused to listen to Samuel. “No!” they said. “We want a king over us. Then we will be like all the other nations, with a king to lead us and to go out before us and fight our battles.”

Who do I want?  What do I want?  I actually do have a lot of choices.  Just like the people of Israel,  I can decide that I want to be like those around me.  A god for everything.  Just as in Acts 17;22-23 I can be very religious, having my objects of worship; my house, my husband, my kids, my church, my life, my refrigerator, my favorite store, drink.

During this Advent season, I am focusing on my God.  And I see that I’m not the most faithful.  My heart, my eyes, can be drawn to so many distraction in my own life allowing Satan to use the things around me in his war against my God.  Before I even realize it I too can be asking for a king so I can be like my neighbors, my friends, those at church,  Pinterest Wonder Women.

I realized this last night at church.  Listening to women talk, listening to what was going on in their lives and how God was using them.  I found my own heart desiring how God was using them.  Desiring the difference they were making in other people’s lives.

I caught myself and just had to pray.  Right there, on the spot.  God is using me in so many wonderful ways.  I have nothing to be desirous about.   But Satan isn’t happy with that and he’s always going to be whispering to me that I need a new king.  But I don’t.  I have the King of all Kings, I follow a Savior who loves me unconditionally and is the Light of the World.

So no,  I do not want a king like other nations have.  I want the God who made the world and everything in it, is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by hands.  And He is not served by human hands, as if He needed anything, because He Himself gives all men life and breath and everything else.

This is my King.

If you get a chance today read Psalm 40.

Leave a Reply

