Rejection

1 Samuel 8:7 ‘ and the Lord told him: “Listen to all that the people are saying to you; it is not you have they have rejected, but they have rejected Me as their King.”‘

I just got off the phone with a friend.  She was feeling rejected.  A family member was being so rude to her when all she wanted to do was serve them with love.  She loves Jesus with all her heart and wants to serve them with that same love.  Unfortunately, they didn’t respond to her with love.  Her feelings were hurt and she was angry.  I probably would be too!

It reminds me of so many times I’ve held out the gospel to friends and family only to have it rejected.  When I first became a Christian, in my early 30’s, I had friends who rejected me, rejected what I wanted to stand for and who I wanted to stand with.

The thing of it is, they aren’t rejecting me or you.  It is God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit they are rejecting.  I know this scripture is familiar, Luke 10:16 “He who listens to you listens to me; he who rejects you rejects Me; but he who rejects Me rejects Him who sent Me.”

As we are in the season that is all about Jesus, please remember, don’t let your heart be troubled.  Just love those around you, be the Jesus for them.

And enjoy your Christmas!

Leave a Reply

