Idols

1 Samuel 5:1-5  “…When the people of Ashdod rose early the next day, there was Dagon, fallen on his face on the ground before the ark of the Lord! They took Dagon and put him back in his place. But the following morning when they rose, there was Dagon, fallen on his face on the ground before the ark of the Lord! His head and hands had been broken off and were lying on the threshold; only his body remained….”

I really do love food.  I can’t help it.  I love food.  I love to eat.  I love to eat when I’m happy, sad, mad, bored and every other emotion that is out there.  I also love my children, my husband, flowers, and coffee.  I love God too.

But do I love God more than anything else.  Do I put God before everything else.  Do I love God so much that Luke 14:26 doesn’t bother me?   I would love to say yes but  I’ve struggled with food for so long that it’s creating insecurities.  I want to love God more.  I don’t want this issue with food.  I want food to be put in its proper perspective and not allow it to be my idol.  But I struggle.  I struggle with always wanting that second helping, eating when I’m not hungry, eating when I should be praying, when I should be fixed on God.

Grief!  Tomorrow is Thanksgiving.  Part of me is really looking forward to the food!  I’m looking forward to memory making with my family as well but I’m looking forward to the food!  I’m also dreading it.  Dreading, fear, that I’m going to stand before an idol and worship it.  Fear that I’m going to push God to the side.  My heart is divided.

As I read on in chapter 5:8 it says that The Lord’s hand was heavy upon the people.  I don’t want God’s hand against me!  I fear that as well.  Why am I making this so darn complicated?!  Why is this so hard?!  Satan has my number on this issue and I’m praying that I have the strength to not pick up the phone.  Because……

God will not share space with any idol.  Our God is a jealous God.  Every knee shall bow before Him.

Father, please forgive me for all the times I have chosen food over you God.  Please forgive me for all times I have celebrated not by looking at you but by going to food.  Please forgive me for when I’ve allowed food to calm me, comfort me, instead of turning to you God.  How great is your joy, Lord, in the victories you give.  Please give me victory in this area Lord.

Leave a Reply

