Diet

1 Samuel 4:3 “When the soldiers returned to camp, the elders of Israel asked, Why did the Lord bring defeat upon us today before the Philistines? Let us bring the ark of the Lord’s covenant from Shiloh, so that it may go with us and save  us from the hand of our enemies.”

I feel like I have been on a diet forever.  Ever since my first child was born I have remained at that same weight.  I’ve read all the books, I’ve joined the support groups, I’ve gotten advice.  My knowledge on weight loss could be enough to write a book!

My problem is that I keep putting the ark of the Lord’s covenant in front of me but I have not gone before God.  I have not poured my heart out to him, asking for forgiveness, repenting.  I am not using the power that God wants to give me and I find myself frustrated and emotional.

The thing is, God has been working on my heart all these years.  I need to let him.  God wants me.  God wants my heart.  God isn’t satisfied with me just holding onto his Word every morning, storing up all this knowledge, putting it in front of me in an attempt to win but not using it the way in which it was meant to be used so that I can have victory.

The way in which I am seeking help is not the way that God approves of.  I am only caring if these books and diet plans will work.  But my heart isn’t focused on God and how God wants my heart to change.  That needs to happen before any of these ‘plans’ will succeed.

I need God, God needs to be in the forefront of this battle but without a repentant heart all I am doing is holding out this knowledge, holding out the ark in front and hoping ‘that it may go well with me and save me’.   That is not how God works.

1 Samuel 7:6  I have got to come before God and confess.  I am a sinful woman.  I have sinned against God.  I have to be willing to sacrifice, fast.  Allow God to lead me.  My eyes are upon all this diet plans, all this nutritional knowledge.  God has a diet plan.  It’s within the pages of His Bible.  I need to trust that God will provide and allow Him to lead me without making a big deal of anything, without seeking anymore advice.  Just do what He says.  My heart knows.

Leave a Reply

