God’s will

1 Samuel 3:19 The Lord was with Samuel as he grew up, and he let none of his words fall to the ground. (NIV) In the Message version it say that God was with him and Samuel’s prophetic record was flawless.

There have been moments when I’ve been listening to a woman or man of God preaching God’s Word and I’m hanging in anticipation for the next word. I am just feeling emotional, excited, and feeling God’s hand upon me and I can’t wait to soak it all in. Those are moments I know that God was there, I was listening, and changes are going to be happening.

We all have our favorite speakers from Beth Moore to Christine Caine to Priscilla Shirer. We find opportunities to listen to them speak, read their books, share their messages with other women. When someone is walking in the will of God it’s just exciting to hear them talk.

Samuel was growing up in a time very similar to ours. The leaders, the authorities or lack there of, the religious people around him, they all did as they saw fit. Israel had no king and no one was looking to step up and lead God’s people back to God so all the people did as they saw fit. We know what that can look like. Greed creeps in, selfishness, idolatry, dissentions, corruption, and the like.

Samuel is even surrounded by priests, born into the ministry, who should be his example of godly men and we are told in verse 12 of chapter 3 that they were wicked men and had no regard for the Lord. Eli, their father, even knew of their behavior and failed to restrain them (v.13).

God notice that Samuel is different. Samuel is ministering before the Lord and the Lord is taking notice. In a time when the word of the Lord was rare; there were not many visions (v.1). God sees and when God is ready He makes sure that not one of Samuel’s words fall to the ground. Changes were going to happen.

Like Samuel I want to make sure that I am in God’s will and doing His will and not just what I see fit. (John 6:38) Jesus tells me “I have come down from heaven, not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me” because (Mark 3:35) “Whoever does God’s will is My brother and sister and mother”.

That is a great lesson for learning to keep your faith even when it seems like no one else is and it seems like God is not answering prayers for a while.  Stay in God’s will.

Leave a Reply

