Post on FB

2 Timothy 1:7 For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.

I’ve seen so many posts, on Facebook, in the past few days that represent fear. Fear of Muslims. Fear of Terrorists. Fear of allowing Syrian refugees of coming to the United States. Fear of those in Muslim attire.

We’ve seen this before. This isn’t new. History is full of horrible events fueled by fear.  Jews, Irish, German, Japanese, Blacks, Whites, Catholic, Protestants, Italians, Muslims and Christians. Fear, and fear leads us to hateful actions towards each other. 

I have to be honest. As I type this out I see my three beautiful sons sitting at the table acting like little goof balls. I love them and because of that love I too am a little afraid. I don’t want them to ever feel pain. I couldn’t imagine the horrors some mothers are facing. I also know that I cannot live my life in that fear.

I must trust God and He gives us power, love and self-discipline.

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

Leave a Reply

