Love Covers

1 Peter 4:8 “Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers a multitude of sins.”

Earlier this week I had an unpleasant confrontation with a woman. I felt attacked, I raised my voice to make a point and walked away. I walked away in anger and hurt. I was ready to let this hurt take a place in my heart with the rest of my hurts but then something unexpected happen. A few days later when she saw me again and I was getting ready to walk in the other direction, she apologized. But it wasn’t just a brief brush off. It was real and something inside me changed.

She was earnest, she didn’t make excuses like I was having a bad day and took it out on you or any other excuse. She came to me and said she was wrong, why she was wrong and asked if I would please forgive her. I know she was apologizing to be biblical, I’ve seen it before, but in that moment I saw her heart before Jesus. She was doing this to be right with Him. And because of her love for Him I saw her love for me. At that moment I mattered to her and she showed it through her love for Christ.

And that apology, her authentic apology to me, covered a multitude of sins that I had been holding in my heart. When she said “please forgive me”, that place in my heart where I hide things, well that opened the door for other hurts to be covered. Other times when I didn’t matter to someone, other times when legalism and religion hurt, those time, they were covered and all because Jesus touched me through her and let me know He sees, He cares.

Leave a Reply

