Liberated

Romans 8:21 “that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God.”(NIV)

I’ve been dieting off and on for about 12 years now. Sometimes seriously sometimes not so. I’ve been reading books, blogs, diet plans, journals and anything else that will give me the rules to lose weight. But after all this knowledge and rule following I’m not getting anywhere.

I’m not good at following the rules though. I don’t like to be put in a box. I like my freedom and very much so! So why am I doing this to myself?

And all this time God has been talking to me. I even talked to a close friend and I’ve told her several times that I know God doesn’t want me so focused on food and myself. God doesn’t want me to be a slave to these diets. He’s given me freedom from this. I am God’s creation and and He wants to liberate me from bondage.  In every area of my life!

So why am I following all the rules? No. I am not. I am no longer going to focus on food and myself. I am no longer going to focus on what other people think of what I do and do not eat. And most of all I AM GOING TO STOP FEELING LIKE A FAILURE!

No, from now on, just like the Israelites had to depend on God for food in the dessert, I too am going to start asking God.

In Psalm 81 God states all I have to do is open wide my mouth and He will fill it and fill it He will with the finest! I will also ONLY eat when I am hungry. So, if that means I am only going to eat if I am hungry. I’m not eating 3 meals a day with 2 snacks. I’m not imposing any rules on me other than these two; if I am hungry I will eat and if I’m not I won’t, I will not overeat. I will only eat until I am satisfied. This is it. (Proverbs 25:16) I am not going to count my steps. I am not going to weigh myself. I am not going to count my calories. I am going to remember that I am going to be ok.

I am going to rely on God and God only. Lamentations 3:22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassion never fails.

Leave a Reply

