He is a shield

This morning as I sit with a warm cup of coffee, my Bible open, I am reading Proverbs 30:5 “Every word of God is flawless” I am in complete agreement. Every word of God, his complete Bible, is without flaws. It’s perfect. I think of the scripture in Hebrews “For the word of God is alive and active”, shaking my head in agreement and say “Amen”. As I continue to read though, I exhale. “He is a shield to those who take refuge in him”.

To take refuge, a condition of being safe or sheltered from pursuit, danger, or trouble. My life is ordinary. I’m not in danger, I’m not being pursued. I see the Christian refugees in the middle East on television, on the internet, and I pray for them. They are in desperate positions, fleeing for their lives. They definitely need to take refuge in God. But me? According to Webster’s dictionary I have no need to be seeking refuge in my Lord. 

Then I pray, “Lord, how can I take refuge in you. How can you be my shield Lord?” As Satan prowls, be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour (1Peter 5:8). Satan is on the prowl of every moment of every day. If I think that because my life is not in physical danger I do not need then will I be aware of a spiritual danger? My husband? My children? No, my life may be ordinary and uneventful (if only for today) but that doesn’t mean that I don’t need to be just as aware, holding tightly to God’s word.

And my life isn’t that ordinary. It’s pretty extra ordinary when I think about the obstacles and plans Satan has put in my path from birth and I am still alive and still have my eyes on my God.

Thank you God. Thank you for helping me to see. I want to take refuge in you before Satan can strike.  You are my shield, Lord.

Leave a Reply

